1) For some reason in today's culture, sport is equivocated with athletics, yet in our vernacular we have terms like "hunting for sport" or giving a "sporting chance". Is the main requirement of sports athletics?
2) If so, is the main requirement of a sport be that it's top members be in good athletic shape. Yes, Tiger is a physical specimen with a six pack and two guns, but John Daly has a keg (probably two actually, one in the bag and one in his belly), and Phil Mickelson requires a bro/manziere to play. Does that disqualify golf from being a sport despite it being incredibly difficult.
3) Why do we require that our activities be classified as "sport" to validate it further. Is it because we don't want the realization that we're a bunch of adults playing child games and watching child games to destroy what little sense of self we have?
Which leads to the main point. Whenever someone criticizes someone's activity or game as not being a sport, the instant response is, "Do you have any idea how difficult or hard it is?" The main defense of sport is that it is incredibly hard. If anything is hard, it is a sport. And people want to validate their accomplishments as overcoming some sort of difficulty, so they want it to be a sport.
So what's harder, ie more of a sport. Running 100 meters at around 30 mph, or hitting a little white ball down a 30 yard wide strip of grass? Is it harder to calculate the angles and use hand eye coordination to knock a bunch of balls off a table into pockets, or to drive a car at 180 mph around a concrete doughnut? Is it harder to swim a quarter of a mile four different ways, or to eat 56 hot dogs in 10 minutes?
I guess my main point should be thus. Everyone has the basics of what a sport is. Football, baseball, basketball. No one ever questions these as sports unless they're trying to make a facetious and extreme argument. It's when you get into the areas of borderline activities that people get offended. Golf, auto racing, cheerleading, gymnastics. So why are we so obsessed, so vehement, about our favorite activities being sports. Why can't they just be games or activities
For the record, I think the following of grey area activities aren't sports: auto racing, golf, cheerleading, dancing, gymnastics, shooting a gun, and competitive eating. Are all these hard? Yes. Are they shown on ESPN? Yes. But so is the spelling bee, so that can no longer be a validator of sports.
As for the Ernest Hemmingway quote, I was trying to wrap things up. Driving a car, I've said, I don't believe is a sport since the car does the majority of work. Bull fighting really just seems stupid and cruel, like russian roulette or slap face. And mountaineering? That goes into a realm of man vs. god as opposed to man vs. man. English fails at giving a category above sports for how hard core and amazing that is. In fact, it should be called awesome. Climbing a mountain is awesome.
I concede the points of chess and pool being sports to Todd. I got confused during my argument because I saw a guy think he could jump a snowmobile over a road and ended up breaking both femurs, then said he'd do it again. What he did was hard, and it requires a lot of endurance and strength, and it was shown on a sports network (VS, not ESPN). Maybe getting injured and being stupid should be a sport.



